Executive Committee

The Executive Committee, comprised of the director, co-directors, and the three axis leaders, is responsible for the day-to-day management of the network, including budgetary and membership decisions. This committee receives, evaluates, and acts upon recommendations from all other committees.


  • Clémence Belleannée (Université Laval)
  • Daniel Bernard (McGill University)
  • Derek Boerboom (Université de Montréal), Président
  • Vilceu Bordignon (McGill University)
  • Claude Robert (Université Laval)
  • Maryse Um (Université de Montréal), Coordonnatrice
  • Cathy Vaillancourt (INRS)

Scientific Committee

It manages the scientific program, awards grants for collaborative projects and establishes an annual program of guest speakers. It includes an infrastructure sub-committee that oversees the sharing, operation and optimal use of the network’s material and technological resources. Members of the EC are also part of this committee.


  • Clémence Bellannée (Université Laval)
  • Vilceu Bordignon (McGill University), Président
  • Dan Cyr (INRS)
  • Greg Fitzharris (Université de Montréal)
  • Cristian O’Flaherty (McGill University)
  • Claude Robert (Université Laval)
  • Cathy Vaillancourt (INRS)
  • Yojiro Yamanaka (McGill University)

Steering Committee

Longer-term vision and direction is achieved under the auspices of a highly engaged Steering Committee comprised of members from industry, academia (including a member from another discipline), government and an accomplished ethics member. Its role is to provide independent assessment, advice and direction to increase the effectiveness of the RQR in meeting the challenges of modern research and addressing the specific aims of the Strategic Clusters Program.


  • Tara Barton-Maclaren (Health Canada)
  • Sylvie Breton (Université Laval)
  • Patrick Devine (Novartis USA)
  • Gabriela Mastromonaco (Toronto Zoo)
  • Bruce Murphy (Université de Montréal), Chair
  • Vardit Ravitsky (The Hastings Center)
  • Glen Van der Kraak (Guelph University)

Administrative Council

The Administrative Council provides a direct link between the RQR and the administrators of its six Québec partner universities. Drawn from the offices of Vice-Principals, Vice-Rectors, and Deans, its members contribute to the development of the RQR by providing advice and identifying opportunities for further funding, partnerships, and collaboration. The Administrative Council increases institutional awareness of the RQR and fosters institutional commitment to its success and further development.


  • Eugenie Brouillet (Université Laval)
  • Younes Chorfi (Université de Montréal)
  • Nathalie Gendron (INRS)
  • Carole Goutorbe (McGill University)
  • Marie-Josée Hébert (Université de Montréal)
  • Jean-François Millaire (Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières)
  • Nicolas Riendeau (Université du Québec à Montréal)
  • Shengrui Wang (Université de Sherbrooke)

Training Committee

Formerly a sub-committee of the Scientific Committee, it became a separate committee in 2021, given the scope and complexity of its responsibilities. The mandate of this committee is to develop the scientific training offered to the students and to manage the various scholarships programs. This Committee is composed of researchers affiliated with the different partner Universities and four student representatives.


  • Clémence Belleannée (Université Laval)
  • Michael Berube (Université de Montréal)
  • Derek Boerboom (Université de Montréal), Ex officio
  • Julie Brind’Amour (Université de Montréal)
  • Florine Grudet (Étudiante au PhD, Université de Montréal)
  • Dina Irsenco (Étudiante à la maîtrise, Université Laval
  • Natalia Jakuc (Étudiante au PhD, Université de Montréal)
  • Serge McGraw (Université de Montréal), Chair

Knowledge Translation Committee

The mandate of this committee is to evaluate the research program with the goal of developing mechanisms and links to transfer knowledge technology to industry, government, veterinary practice and other end-users. Members will participate in workshops and serve as resources for member inquieries about potential collaborative projects.


  • Julie Baillargeon (Centre d’expertise en production ovine du Québec)
  • Olivier D’Amours (Ministère de l’agriculture, des pêcheries et de l’alimentation du Québec)
  • Jocelyn Dubuc (Université de Montréal), Président
  • Chantal Fleury (Les producteurs de lait du Québec)
  • Frédéric Fortin (Centre de développement du porc du Québec)
  • Marie-Ève Paradis (Association des médecins vétérinaires praticiens du Québec)
  • Claude Robert (Université Laval), de facto

Diversity Committee

The mandate of this committee is to create policies and activities to promote diversity, inclusion and tolerance in the RQR. This Committee will provide a resource where the concerns of underrepresented members of the RQR can be communicated and discussed. Finally, it will strengthen the participation of women and minorities in the RQR and in the field of reproductive sciences.


  • Nour Abou Nader (Université de Montréal)
  • Adélaïde Allais (Université de Montréal)
  • Derek Boerboom (Université de Montréal), Ex officio
  • Hugh Clarke (McGill University)
  • Géraldine Delbès, (INRS), Chair
  • Karine de Mattos (Université Laval)
  • Hengameh Kazemdarvish (McGill University)
  • Maryse Um (Université de Montréal)
  • Gustavo Zamberlam (Université de Montréal)

RQR Statutes